A Personal Blog on Bicycle Transportation and DIY Projects

Schwinn Paramount Frame Repaint

When I started this project, I didn’t think I needed to repaint the frame.  I thought a few applications of touchup could fix it.  That was an incorrect assumption.   I was at a crossroads in the early stages of this project.  Should I sell it, part is out and make money off of it, repaint it myself or have it professionally repainted?

Having thought this out, I decided to have it professionally repainted.  I would leave it to the pros.  Doing it myself would have involved investment into expensive equipment that would not be practical in a home environment.  I looked around and decided that sending it to the Waterford factory in Wisconsin (the same factory that built this bike) would do this bike frame justice.  They would strip, re-align and repaint it to the original factory color.  They were a pleasure to work with.  I highly recommend them.  The bike came back in a new box and carefully packed.  Needless to say, the job they did exceeded my expectations.  Here’s some close up photos that should speak for themselves.

Leave a Reply

