A Personal Blog on Bicycle Transportation and DIY Projects

Kurt Vise Restored

I have been coming across a lot of tools lately. If it says “made in the USA” I have found if was built good enough to warrant some type of restoration. The used D675 Kurt Vise is such an example. After buying it for $125, I derusted the parts with electrolysis, sprayed it with hammertite paint and ordered a rebuild kit for $20 from enco. It was missing the swivel base, so I got one from eBay for $100 with shipping. Finally, I needed the bolts for the base($30) and Kurt supplied them with free stickers. Here’s the result for a total of $275, I got the equivalent of a $780 new vise. You could go cheaper with a used one, but this one I know works inside and out.

20120210-190309.jpg

20120210-190323.jpg

20120210-190329.jpg

20120210-190337.jpg

2 responses

  1. Guy Lopes

    Great resto on the Kurt! I bought three old 6″ Kurts for $100 each. I sold two of them and ended up with a free vise. I have the rebuild kit and will be mimicking your efforts here. Thanks for a great write up. I originally saw it at GJ. Thanks, Guy

    September 29, 2013 at 12:48 am

    • daus300b

      You are welcome! This is why I post this stuff, to help others that have helped me. My vise is doing well, one of the best purchases I have made. The rust oleum hammerite paint had been very durable. After each use, I give it a liberal coating of wd40 in a spray bottle. No rust at all.

      September 29, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Leave a Reply

