A Personal Blog on Bicycle Transportation and DIY Projects

Lathe Wired Up

I hooked up the lathe this weekend. For safety, I added a 2 pole disconnect switch for a 4 wire 240v circuit. I went for this type of circuit so I could pull 120v out of it for the dro. The vfd was rated for 2 hp 3 phase input but since I had a single phase circuit, I had to “derate” the vfd output. I think I will still have plenty of power for my applications, so we will just see how well it works being this vfd came with the lathe. I chucked up a piece of aluminum and it turned it without incident. The vfd is very nice. Once you run a lathe with one, you will wonder how you ever lived without it before.

20120924-094244.jpg

20120924-094252.jpg

20120924-094303.jpg

20120924-094311.jpg

Leave a Reply

