A Personal Blog on Bicycle Transportation and DIY Projects

“New” Montague folding bike

I acquired a “poor mans” s&s coupled bike, the Montague folding bike. This is the same brand that Talking Heads leader, David Byrne, used in his book “Bicycle Diaries”. I bought it used and its an older model, which I preferred because it has mountain bike tires and no suspension fork.

This is the first time I used a soft bag. The bag fits, but is not the durable. I used two wool blankets to wrap it and give some extra protection. So far, it had travelled well on this trip with no extra baggage fees from southwest.

While I like my earlier folding bikes with smaller tires, they attracted too much attention. I want to be able travel anywhere and not attract attention. I also like that if something broke, standard parts could be found easily.

The bike rides really well and I like how it goes anywhere. Packing and unpacking was so far about 5 minutes worth of time each way.

20121016-131549.jpg

20121016-131710.jpg

20121016-131720.jpg

Leave a Reply

