A Personal Blog on Bicycle Transportation and DIY Projects

UV oil leak detection

My Enco lathe had been leaking oil since I purchased it. I couldn’t figure out the source of the leak as oil seemed to come from various locations. I opted for a solution of pouring an oil based ultraviolet dye into the gearbox and using an ultraviolet light to detect any leaks.

I found a leak near the thread gears. I also found a leak near the gear change lever that would have only shown up during operation.

20121119-182155.jpg

20121119-182202.jpg

20121119-182208.jpg

Leave a Reply

