A Personal Blog on Bicycle Transportation and DIY Projects

“The Next to Last DIY Speaker Project”

I used to play in a band.  Life has changed and I can’t commit the time anymore.  So, I do it vicariously by listening to music.  However, being in a band, you will find most stereo systems do not recreate that “live” experience.  Recently, I managed to obtain the critical parts of a patented horn design, the unity horn by Tom Danley, after the purchase of a pair of Yorkville Unity speakers that I found in a killer deal on Ebay. 

The unity horn creates the “Holy Grail of audiophile” sound.  It features three midrange speakers and a prosound compression tweeter that fire into point source and then our of a horn.  It covers 300hz to 20 khz with a 60 degree dispersion.  It takes only 1watt, yes 1 watt, to give 113db of sound.   What does this mean?  It means life-like dynamics and ultra low distortion that will work in any room.   I heard this technology about 10 years ago from a friend that had licensed the patent to make a low-cost version for the DIY community, Lambda Acoustics.  The company had since gone out of business, but the memory remained as the best sound I ever heard from a speaker.   You just couldn’t get any better than that.

The Yorkville U15 speaker I purchased is far from perfect, especially for the level I am shooting for (its ugly).  It needs improvement with digital signal processing.   Below is a rough diagram of what I am to do with them.  It will feature and active digital crossover with and integrated analog volume control.  All digital processing will be at 24bit/96khz.   It will use a patented subwoofer processor designed to give extraordinary amounts of bass from a vented cabinet.    It will also probably piss my neighbors off.  😉 

2 responses

  1. Tim Walding

    Are you changing the drivers or just electronics

    November 5, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    • daus300b

      The plan was to scrap the crossover and make it fully active. The mid, tweeter and horn are the most valuable parts of the speaker and that is what is going to be recycled. The bass drivers are good too, but need some equalization (like the cordell eqss concept) to give the performance I am looking for.

      November 12, 2011 at 10:12 am

Leave a comment