A Personal Blog on Bicycle Transportation and DIY Projects

Bike Repair to Benefit the South Florida MS Society

I’ve registered for the 2012 Zimmerman MS Bike Ride Presented by Mack Cycle and Fitness because I am riding for my relative, Melissa, who was diagnosed with this illness.  For her support and others in her same situation, I want to do something for the people who have been diagnosed – and because I want to do everything to educate more people on what it means to live with this disease. Today, there is no cure for multiple sclerosis, and with diagnosis occurring most frequently between the ages of 20 and 50, many individuals face a lifetime filled with unpredictability.

Why You Should Sponsor Me

The National Multiple Sclerosis Society will use funds collected from the 2011 Zimmerman MS Bike Ride Presented by Mack Cycle and Fitness to not only support research for a cure tomorrow, but also to provide programs which address the needs of people living with MS today. Because we can fight this disease by simply riding a bike, because we have chosen to help thousands of people through a contribution to the 2011 Zimmerman MS Bike Ride Presented by Mack Cycle and Fitness, we are now getting closer to the hour when no one will have to hear the words, “You have MS.”

Where your donation goes.

About the Ride

I will ride a total of 150 miles in 2 days. This has been a physical and mental challenge as I train to condition my body for this type of journey.  But its all for a worthy cause.  Join me with your support in helping to find a cure.

If you would like to help me out (thank you!!!!!) please follow the link below:

http://main.nationalmssociety.org/site/TR/Bike/FLSBikeEvents?px=8971280&pg=personal&fr_id=17642

If you live in the South Florida area, I am also performing bike repairs to the cause.  Here is my friend Allison.  See that smile on her face?  That’s the smile of someone riding their now perfectly working bike.  This poor unridable bike was rejected by the local bike shop as “unrepairable”.  It was brought back to “new – but still rusty” condition with a blow torch, angle grinder, tools, wd40, lube and a lot of elbow grease.  As she stated – “It feels like I am riding a new bike!”.  If you have a bike that you need tuned up, repaired or upgraded, contact me and if I can work on it, make whatever donation you want to the cause.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a comment